Inspiration Vacation – Part 2

6 Sep

Happy Labor Day all! I’m taking advantage of this well-timed holiday to make some upgrades to Mock-off, including an updated Celebrity Styles page and a simple new homepage. I have also moved the blog from Blogger over to Word Press. So far the transition has been smooth, so here’s hoping it stays that way!

Because it is a holiday I thought it would be a good time to explore Part 2 of my Inspiration Vacation series. Last time we explored burlap bags, redheads and twinkling lights. Here are some more items that make me smile:

1) Heeled Oxfords – Oxfords are my must-have shoe for Fall. I love, love, love these inexpensive heels from Target. Mix them with wide leg trousers or a skirt with tights and you have a cute, whimsical shoe.

2) Sewing Machines. Growing up both my mother and grandmother were always sewing. My mother has a beautiful old Singer machine that has held together beautifully over the years. My husband bought me a shiny new machine this past Christmas, but I have yet to use it for any projects aside from minor clothing repairs. My goal this Fall: sew some new pillows for the living room.

Older sewing machines are also great home decor accessories. The old industrial look adds a functional antique element to any room.  Imagine this on an old bookshelf:

3) Missoni. Yes, yes. I realize Missoni isn’t exactly an affordable brand. But I can’t help but pine for the brand’s signature colorful stripes and chevron prints.  I found scarves for as little as $13o at Saks Off 5th here in Portland this weekend, which is a steal for this Italian brand. But what I am really coveting is this beautiful  knit cardigan.

Stay Tuned for Part 3 of Inspiration Vacation.
Follow my blog with bloglovin

Leave a Reply

